遺囑和遺產

我們可以協助你減低在複雜的房地產管理中遇到的困難。

對於我們的亞洲客戶,我們也可以協助處理多個司法管轄區內資產出現的一些較為棘手的問題。如果是關於繼承人的問題,我們有處理遺產訴訟的經驗。

您可以點擊下面的案件,查看我們多年來曾經處理過的遺產訴訟案件。

對於大概80-90%的客戶來說,遺囑是處理遺產的最好方式。但有時你的情況可能會讓你感到在繼承人上可能會存在問題。例如,正處於第二段的婚姻但在第一段婚姻有屬於自己的孩子,不幸的是,這種糾紛很常見。

在這種情況下, 除了遺囑外我們可以通過多個的規劃的方法來“避免這個問題”。關鍵是在問題出現之前避免這個問題。在您與我們的諮詢當中,我們可以和你討論這些不同的選擇。

  • 妻子取了母親兒子的錢

    一個兒子拿著屬於他母親的大筆款項。 當兒子的妻子發現兒子快死時,(他當時和妻子不住在同一間房屋裡),妻子叫兒子把款項轉給她。 我們成功地辯護這筆錢仍然屬於母親,儘管兒子將錢轉移給妻子,因為兒子只是為母親信託保管這筆款項(法律上稱之為“歸覆信托”)。
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2010 BCSC 1230
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2011 BCSC 856

    閱讀案件

  • 弟弟取代姐姐為執行人

    一位母親去世之後,把她的遺產留給了她的兩個孩子。 遺產中最主要資產是她去世時所居住的房屋。 按照母親的遺囑姐姐是遺產的執行人。 姐姐憑著母親還活著的時候簽署的一份授權書和一份財產轉讓協議把房子賣掉,然後把淨銷售收入投入她和丈夫的銀行賬戶,更拒絕把一半的錢轉移給她的弟弟。 她還聲稱,母親已經授權讓她可以從照顧母親的時間上得到報酬,因此提出了對遺產的申索。引用利益衝突,我們讓弟弟取代為母親的執行人。
    Browne v. Brown Estate, 2015 BCSC 28

    閱讀案件

  • 大伯試圖收回一半他那已經轉移給他侄子的房屋 – 歸覆信托申索被駁回

    一位老人想要他哥哥當時五歲的孫子在他去世後繼承他的房屋,於是他把房屋轉移給他和他的侄子作為聯合擁有人。六年後,他跌倒了,進了醫院 。醫院建議,如果他繼續住在他的房屋,應該找一個人來照顧他,當他出院後,就聘請了一個女人照顧他。不幸的是,在她開始“照顧他”三個月之後,那一半仍然屬於該男子的房屋被轉移到該女子身上,而那男子開始要求要將另一半的業權轉回給他。他最終起訴了(現在11歲)的侄子,說侄子只是為他託管,所以他可以隨時拿回他的房子。我們替這個侄子進行抗辯,法庭裁定並沒有歸覆信托,即老人已把物業贈送給侄子,現在無法取回。
    Wong v. Huang, 2012 BCSC 975

    閱讀案件

WILLS & ESTATES

We can help you navigate the complexities of estate administration with a minimum of difficulty.

For our Asian clients, we can also assist with some of the more difficult problems that arise with assets being in multiple jurisdictions. If there are problems amongst heirs, we have experience dealing with estate litigation.

You can click on the cases below to see a sampling of the estate litigation files we have dealt with over the years.

For probably 80 – 90% of our clients, a will is the best way to deal with your estate. But sometimes your circumstances may be such that you know there could be a problem amongst your heirs. For example, for someone in a second marriage with children from a first marriage, it is unfortunately quite common for disputes to arise.

In those situations, we can “avoid the problem” through a number of planning techniques other than wills. The key is to avoid the problem before it becomes a problem. We can discuss these options with you when you come in to see us.

  • Wife Taking Son’s Mother’s Money

    A son held significant moneys that belonged to his mother. When the son’s wife found out about the moneys as the son was dying (he was not in the same house as the wife at this time), the wife got the son to transfer the money to her. We successfully argued that the money still belonged to the mother despite the fact that the son transferred the money to his wife on the basis that the son was holding the moneys in trust for his mother (what is known in law as a “resulting trust”).
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2010 BCSC 1230
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2011 BCSC 856

    View Case

  • Brother Replacing Sister as Executor

    A mother died, leaving her estate to her two children. The main asset of the estate was the house in which she was living when she died. The sister was named as executrix in the mother’s will. The sister, using a power of attorney and a property transfer signed while the mother was alive, sold the house and then put the net sale proceeds into her and her husband’s accounts and refused to turn half of the money over to her brother. She also claimed that the mother had authorized that she be paid for her time taking care of her mother and so brought a claim against the estate. We were able to have the mother replaced as executrix by her brother, citing a conflict of interest.
    Browne v. Brown Estate, 2015 BCSC 28

    View Case

  • Great Uncle Trying to Reclaim One Half of Title to a House That He Had Transferred to his Great Nephew – Resulting Trust Claim Dismissed

    An elderly man wanted his brother’s then five year old grandson to inherit his house after his death, so he transferred the house to himself and his great nephew as joint tenants. Six years later, he had a fall and was hospitalized. The hospital recommended that the man have someone take care of him while he continued to live in the house. When the man was released from hospital, he hired a woman to look after him. Unfortunately, three months after she started “taking care of him”, the half of the house that was still in the man’s name was transferred to the woman, and the man started asking that the other half be transferred back to him. He eventually sued the (now 11 year old) great nephew, saying that the interest of the great nephew was held in trust for him so he could get it back at any time. We defended the nephew and the court found that there was no resulting trust, i.e. that the elderly man had gifted the property to the great nephew and now could not get it back.
    Wong v. Huang, 2012 BCSC 975

    View Case