法律诉讼服务

在法律诉讼中,我们强调要得到结果,并儘可能越快获得越好。

这些不仅是表面的空话:这种哲学往往反映在我们如何在诉讼中得到报酬。 这意味著我们不以每小时收费,因为当律师每小时收取诉讼费用时,花越长时间去完成案件,他们便会收到更多的报酬!

一般来说,在诉讼事宜上,Kevin和James会关注与金钱相关的事宜,例如房地产纠纷(例如买方拒绝购买房子的情况),房地产诉讼(例如有人被剥夺继承权),讨债(Kevin原先的专业领域)和合同纠纷(例如建築纠纷和建築商假扣押)。 Kevin和James不会参与交通意外或家庭上的法律诉讼。

因为Kevin和James通常会一起处理诉讼文件, 所以好处是你会同时得到事务律师和诉讼律师两者的观点,从而增加你获胜的机会。

我们通常也会按成功的比例来收费(我们只在您获得赔偿后才向您收取律师费,如果您没有得到赔偿,我们也不会向您收取律师费)。由此可见,我们的目标是与您一致的。我们也愿意在完成某一个阶段之后才向您收取律师费,再次强调我们重视尽早完成每项法律案件(在这种安排中,无论法律案件的结果如何,都要支付法律费用,但数额可能取决于取得的结果)。另外当然,尽管我们大多数的客户都喜欢选择看到结果后才要支付费用,我们也接受按每小时收费。

想了解我们所做的事情,请查看以下我们选择了一些在这几年中所做的法律案件。除非另有说明,所有案件都是Kevin和James合作处理的。 我们有一个简短的案件摘要,以及链接连接到判决结果。

  • 妻子取了母亲儿子的钱

    一个儿子拿着属于他母亲的大笔款项。当儿子的妻子发现儿子快死时,(他当时和妻子不住在同一间房屋里),妻子叫儿子把款项转给她。我们成功地辩护这笔钱仍然属于母亲,尽管儿子将钱转移给妻子,因为儿子只是为母亲信托保管这笔款项(法律上称之为“归覆信托”)。
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2010 BCSC 1230
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2011 BCSC 856

    阅读案件

  • 米高梅大酒店法律案件 – 欺诈性财产转让

    我们的客户,妻子,她的丈夫是一个嗜赌成性的赌徒。每次从台湾来到加拿大,他经常都会去拉斯维加斯赌博。有一个周末,他输了超过500万美元。之后不久,夫妻双方回到台湾而且离婚,妻子拿到了房子和一些钱。米高梅表示,离婚是欺诈性财产转让,旨在让米高梅不能对本应可以提出要求的房子和金钱提出申索。米高梅起诉要撤销房屋和金钱的转移。对米高梅向房屋和金钱提出的要求,我们成功的为妻子辩护。
    MGM Grand Hotel Inc. v. Liu, 1997 CanLII 2369 (BC SC)

    阅读案件

  • 法律公证人案件 – 非居民业主引致公证人疏忽

    我们的客户买了一间法院拍卖的物业。物业的原屋主刚输了一宗国际仲裁, 债权人正在出售该物业。我们客户的公证人曾询问该物业的原屋主是否为加拿大税务居民,但没有得到答案,而该合同也没有提到关于税收上原屋主是否为加拿大税务居民。公证人在没有确认原屋主是否为加拿大税务居民的情况下为买家完成了购买该物业,结果其中一个原来是非税务居民,导致买家要为那非税务居民所欠下的$695,000的税款负责。我们成功地起诉该公证人疏忽和未在合同中保护买家。
    Mao v. Liu, 2017 BCSC 226

    阅读案件

LITIGATION SERVICES

In litigation, we emphasize getting results, and getting them as quickly as possible.

Those aren’t just empty words: that philosophy tends to be reflected in how we are paid in litigation. That means that we rarely bill hourly, because when a lawyer gets paid hourly for litigation, they are rewarded for taking longer to bring a file to its conclusion!

Generally speaking, in litigation matters, Kevin and James focus on money related matters in the broad sense, such as real estate disputes (for example, where a purchaser refuses to complete on a purchase of a house), estate litigation (e.g. where a person has been disinherited, or funds have been stolen from the estate), debt collection (Kevin’s original area of expertise), and contract disputes (e.g. construction disputes and builder’s lien disputes). Kevin and James do not get involved in car accidents or family law litigation.

Because Kevin and James typically work together on litigation files, you get the benefit of both the solicitor’s and the litigator’s perspectives which increases your chances of winning.

We are often open to contingency fee arrangements (where we only get paid when you get paid, and if you don’t get paid, then we don’t either). You then know that our incentives are aligned with yours. We are also open to being paid for finishing a stage of a case, which again emphasizes moving the file to a conclusion (in this type of arrangement, legal fees are payable regardless of the outcome of the file, but the amount may be depend on the outcome achieved). And yes, we are open to being paid hourly, though most of our clients prefer to pay us for results.

To get a flavour of what we do, take a look at a sampling of some of the cases that we have done over the years below. All cases noted are files where Kevin and James worked together unless specifically noted otherwise. We have a short summary of the case, as well as a link to the judgment itself.

  • Wife Taking Son’s Mother’s Money

    A son held significant moneys that belonged to his mother. When the son’s wife found out about the moneys as the son was dying (he was not in the same house as the wife at this time), the wife got the son to transfer the money to her. We successfully argued that the money still belonged to the mother despite the fact that the son transferred the money to his wife on the basis that the son was holding the moneys in trust for his mother (what is known in law as a “resulting trust”).
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2010 BCSC 1230
    Pan v. Pan Estate, 2011 BCSC 856

    View Case

  • MGM Grand Case – Fraudulent Conveyance Case

    The husband of our client, the wife, was a compulsive gambler. When coming to Canada from Taiwan, he would often go to Las Vegas to gamble. One weekend he lost over USD$5m. Shortly after that, the husband and the wife went back to Taiwan and got divorced, with the wife getting the house and some money. MGM said that the divorce was a fraudulent conveyance designed to defeat the claim that MGM would otherwise have had against the house and money. MGM sued to undo the transfer of the house and the moneys. We successfully defended the wife against MGM’s claim for the house and the money.
    MGM Grand Hotel Inc. v. Liu, 1997 CanLII 2369 (BC SC)

    View Case

  • Notary Case – Notary Negligence Due to Non-Resident Owner

    Our clients bought a property in a court ordered sale. The owner of the property had been involved in an international arbitration, and had lost. The creditor was now selling the property. The notary for our client asked, but did not get an answer, as to whether the owner of the property was a resident or not, and the contract was completely silent as to whether the owner was a resident of Canada for tax purposes. The notary completed the purchase for the purchasers without confirming the residency of the owners, and it turned out that one of them was a non-resident, which resulted in the purchasers being liable for $695,000 in tax that was owing by that non-resident owner. We successfully sued the notary for negligence and in contract for failing to protect the purchasers.
    Mao v. Liu, 2017 BCSC 226

    View Case